Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog

Saturday, September 10th 2005

10:46 AM

Bouchercon 36 Award Winners



by Lesa Holstine

Bouchercon 36, The World Mystery Convention was held
in Chicago Sept. 1-4.  Bouchercon, and the Anthony
Awards, are both named for Anthony Boucher, a three
time Edgar winner for his body of criticism, and the
man recognized as the nation’s foremost authority of
crime fiction before his death.  Each year there are a
number of awards presented at Bouchercon.  Award
winners are listed here.  If you would like the list
of nominees in each category, please check out
Bouchercon’s web site at www.bouchercon.net.

The Anthony Awards are suggested by fans, and winners
are chosen by vote at each Bouchercon convention.
This year’s winners are:

Best Novel – Blood Hollow by William Kent Krueger
Best First Novel – Dating Dead Men by Harley Jane
Best Paperback Original – Twisted City by Jason Starr
Best Short Story – “Wedding Knife” by Elaine Viets in
Chesapeake Crimes
Best Cover Art – Brooklyn Noir by Sohrab Habibion,
editor Tim McLoughlin
Best Critical/Non-Fiction Work – Men’s Adventure
Magazines by Max Allan Collins (et al)

The Barry Awards are given each year by Deadly
Pleasures Magazine.  The award is named for Barry
Gardner, who was considered the best fan/reviewer of
his time.  This year’s winners are:

Best Novel – The Enemy by Lee Child
Best First Novel – The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos
Ruiz Zafon
Best British Crime Novel – Flesh & Blood by John
Best Paperback Original – Tagged for Murder by Elaine
Best Thriller – Rain Storm by Barry Eisler
Best Short Story – “The War in Wonderland” by Edward
D. Hoch in Green for Danger

The Shamus Awards are presented by The Private Eye
Writers of America to honor the best “P.I.” mysteries.
This year’s winners are:

Lifetime Achievement – Sara Paretsky
Best P.I. Novel – While I Disappear by Ed Wright
Best Paperback Original P.I. Novel – Fade to Blonde by
Max Phillips
Best First P.I. Novel – The Dead by Ingrid Black
Best P.I. Short Story – “Hasidic Noir” by Pearl
Abraham in Brooklyn Noir

The Macavity Awards are given each year to the best
crime fiction as voted by the membership of Mystery
Readers, International.  This year’s winners are:

Best Mystery Novel – The Killing of the Tinkers by Ken
Best First Mystery Novel – Dating Dead Men by Harley
Jane Kozak
Best Nonfiction – Forensics for Dummies by D.P. Lyle,
Best Short Story – “The Widow of Slane” by Terence
Faherty in EQMM, March/April 2004

The Hammett Award is given out each year by the
International Association of Crime Writers for “a work
of literary excellence in the field of crime writing
by a US or Canadian author.”  Prince of Thieves by
Chuck Hogan is this year’s winner.

For seven years, the American Crime Writers League has
presented the Ellen Nehr Award for excellence in
mystery reviewing.  Hallie Ephron, Boston Globe, is
this year’s winner.

There’s probably something for everyone to try on this
year’s list of award winners.  Enjoy!


Posted by alnindo:

it's nice informatian those can make me get more knowledge.. thanks and don't forget revisit my articles on

Yaesu FT 2900r
ht alinco dj crx1

garmin montana 680
garmin 585 plus

ais icom ma500tr

ht yaesu vx 6r
ht kenwood thk20a
ht icom v80

ht motorola cp1660
ht motorola xir p6620i
GPS garmin 78s
gps garmin 64s
standard horizon hx400is

Wednesday, December 11th 2019 @ 12:26 AM

Post New Comment

No Smilies More Smilies »